Ubiquity

I have only two computers that I use and already I miss the features Benjamin Otte describes in his recent blog post. Fortunately there is some work being done for this already! I noticed that Conduit has GConf module. I haven’t tried it so I don’t know how well it works but it’s a set to the right direction. For applications I’m not aware of any solutions, but for regular files there already some services available¬† like Dropbox and Ubuntu One. Wouldn’t it just be a matter of bringing these all together under easy configuration system and automatic background synchronization?

I would like see GNOME go to that direction as it shouldn’t interfere with single computer use model GNOME has today. You could just decide to use it if you want.

1 comment so far

  1. Matti Katila on

    I have been thinking that I should have my home directory as a git repository.

    Problems may arise if I forgot to commit and push, however. Also, I would need a server computer that is trusted by me.

    Local copy is always very nice thing. Even if I would be on my laptop without network I would have some copy and history of the data.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

