Version control systems

Recently, I have been looking for the best version control system to use. We have been using subversion and it has been fine so far, but now our workflow is going through some changes. With a colleague, we have tried to figure out how subversion fits in to the upcoming workflow changes, and it just feels uncomfortable. After some testing with git, I remembered bazaar. I first tried bazaar in 2005 and just loved how simple it felt. I have been eager to get to try it in real work, but haven’t had a change. Finally, the first real need (as in, I actual got to choose what to use) for a decent version control system was last spring, when I started work on my thesis. By now, bazaar had support for hosting a branch in server with only ssh shell access, and where I couldn’t install any extra software. It worked great for me. Tomorrow I’ll have to evaluate it with my colleagues and see how it would fit our new workflow.

Was this really the first post this year? I’ll have to do better.. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

