Getting Real

A friend of mine pointed me to a nice book by 37signals. Its titled Getting Real and is availble for free online reading. The emphasis on the book is on developing web-based software but most points apply (in some form or another) to all software development. I’m surprised how well it captures my feelings. It’s almost the same as when read Mythical Man Month for the first time and indeed there are some similarities between Getting Real and what Fred Brooks described already in 1975. I guess I should read that one again just to remind me of the realities of software development.

I definitely recommend both books for all people who are somehow involved in software development!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

