oFono and freesmartphone.org

I just noticed the announcement of oFono, a mobile telephony infrastructure project sponsored by Intel and Nokia. It looks like a direct competion for freesmartphone.org. Like Harald Welte and probably many others, I’m wondering why this new initiative instead participation to an existing project like freesmartphone.org? I think FSO has been open for feedback (at least when I briefly worked with the project sometime ago) so they could have influenced what was done there. Or was that not the case? Or was there a completely different philosophy?

Anyway, I guess I’ll have to take a look at the code 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

